About Us

Our History

RAFA, the Raleigh Area Flute Association, is a nonprofit corporation founded in 1985. In addition to our extensive family of teachers and students (and their families, too!), we have several flute choirs that perform throughout the Raleigh and greater Triangle area in North Carolina.

RAFA presents workshops, masterclasses, and competitions all year, but our favorite event is our annual Flute Fair, held in mid-November, where our members gather for presentations, guest artists, recitals, and flute-related vendors in an all-day event! We support activities through membership dues and contributions from individuals and businesses throughout North Carolina and nationwide. All gifts are tax deductible.

Our Mission

The mission of the Raleigh Area Flute Association is to

  • Promote flute playing in North Carolina
  • Promote the enjoyment and appreciation of the flute
  • Assist members in achieving musical excellence
  • Provide scholarships for worthy students

Our Statement of Ethics, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

(click for PDF file)

RAFA Board of Directors

Our Officers

President: Rosene Rohrer
Vice-President: Catherine LeGrand
Treasurer: Irene Burke
Corresponding Secretary: Kathy Hancock
Recording Secretary: Nancy Schneeloch-Bingham
Carla Copeland-Burns (’20-’23)
Amanda Hoke (’18-’21)
Pam Nelson (’19-’22)

Our Appointed Positions

Masterclass Coordinator: Nancy Schneeloch-Bingham
Publicity (Social Media): Lindsay Leach-Sparks
Membership Chairperson: Rosene Rohrer
Student Representative:  Brennan Robbins
Review & Contest: Kathy Hancock
Solo/Ensemble Fest: Anne Dyke
Artist Competition: Catherine LeGrand
Flute Choirs: TBD
Tune In Newsletter Editor: Kyle Owen
Website Manager: Andrea McKerlie Luke
Website Design & Development: Amanda Hoke
Virtual Event & Technical Coordinator: Kyle Owen
Development Director and Public Relations: Daryl Kessler

Appointed positions are selected by the executive board officers.
The executive board officers are nominated and voted upon annually at the Members’ Recital in May